Sunflowervillager's Blog

Growing into community

Summer 2015 August 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Saera @ 1:38 pm

This summer has seen significant growth for the Sunflower Village. I’m excited to tell you all it!

First of all, a new group of us have been meeting since January, about once a month. I admit I was a little hesitant to write about it here at the beginning. I was scared. I was afraid that it would fall apart again. But it hasn’t. I learned a lot from my previous attempts. I’ve been polishing my strengths and I have new tools that I’ve been learning through working on my Master’s at Marlboro Graduate and Professional Studies.

The school is on a trimester system, and I took a course this summer called New Venture Creation. In it, I developed a business plan for the Sunflower Village. It still needs work flushing out more of the details, and research to get better financial predictions, but I learned a lot from doing it, and it helped clarify how some things in the village will work. One of the parts of it I am most proud of is a model of our economic & governance system. I made it as clear as I could, then shared it at our most recent meeting. I was delighted at the results. Not only did we agree to try the model out for governing ourselves, we improved the model, and decided how things would be decided for each part of the model. I’ll be writing about that in detail soon.

Another component of the village that developed a lot this year, particularly this summer, was the role of tiny houses in the village. The idea of small, customized houses was always part of the Sunflower Village idea. But Nick and Yani helped us make a solid connection to the tiny house movement. The two of them had already done some research, and Nick has been investigating ways to make them even more affordable.

There are about twelve of us in the group now. We’re a mixed bunch: single, partnered, and in families, and it’s great to see how we’re making this village together, one discussion at a time.

?

 

Leave a Reply

